The Blanket

The Blanke

It’s been a while since I posted and even though the picture is not a wow, earth shattering image, the subject itself is a pretty amazing thing and I believe a great story behind it or at least an interesting and somewhat insightful story. (oh please disregard all the little bits on the floor, with four cats who hate the vacuum, my floor tends to be a mess, lol)

This very night I have finally finished this blanket which I started somewhat fifteen years ago (yes, I am that person, the procrastinator, but of course most of you know this already). I have had this blanket sitting around, just waiting for me to finish it, to put it together, to complete it, so at the beginning of the year I decided it was time to either get rid of it and let someone else finish it or just do it myself, well the picture really says it all.

You would think it would be easy to put this little blanket together, I had twenty-nine squares which just needed to be stitched together, simple …. right? Unfortunately as I crocheted each square this somewhat fifteen years ago, I really was not doing it properly and I knew I wasn’t, but I just kept going crocheting away knowing it was wrong, end result …. twenty-nine squares all mismatched, uneven and not really able to be stitched together properly. This reminds me of life, we go along day-to-day making mistakes (at times knowingly) and instead of fixing it right then, we just keep going, learning nothing, not stopping to fix it, we just push forward until one day we have to face our mistakes, we must fix the messed up pieces and try to put them together or just runaway. I chose to fix the squares (which needed lots of fixing, smh) in order for the blanket to fit together.

I am so happy I persevered and completed this blanket I started this somewhat fifteen years ago, this is such a great way to start out a new year, completing a task which I started so long ago. This will hopefully be the first of a long list of started projects that this silly procrastinator has sitting around just waiting for me to complete.

Hopefully this will inspire someone to face a task that is before them, a task that needs completing, but may not be easy.

Okay, I’m done, both with the blanket and my story for the night. Please always remember, be inspired by someone else or maybe you can inspire someone, either way keep moving forward and complete those tasks.

Leave a comment